Coach Franklin unhappy with lack of recognition for players

Nittany Nation

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. (WTAJ) — We know Coach Franklin always preaches “1-0” and repeating the name of their opponent each week.

Today, Coach Franklin took a step back and defended Pat Freiermuth and Jan Johnson for being left off of award lists.

Pat Freiermuth was left off of the Mackey Award semi-finalist list, which is given to the nation’s best tight end, and Jan Johnson was left off the Burlsworth Award list, which rewards the best player to start as a walk-on.

Coach Franklin says preparing for their next game takes precedent, but says both players deserve to be top eight in their respective categories.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

app apple google

Don't Miss