Bo Nickal Wins 2019 Hodge Trophy

Nittany Nation
bo nickal knows_1550008629477.jpg.jpg

A Nittany Lion wrestler won college wrestling’s top honor for the third year in a row.

Penn State wrestling announced Monday, three-time national champion Bo Nickal has won the Dan Hodge Trophy. The Hodge Trophy is college wrestling’s version of college football’s Heisman Trophy. Nickal has been named the top collegiate wrestler in the country.

Nickal took home his third-straight NCAA title defeating Ohio State’s Kollin Moore in the 197-pound championship in Pittsburgh on March 23.

Accrording to a Penn State media release, Nickal finished the season undefeated with 30 wins including 18 pins, three technical falls and six major decisions. Nickal edged teammate Jason Nolf who finished in second place in the Hodge voting. Nolf also won his third-consecutive NCAA championship to round out his collegiate career.

You can find a list of the latest Hodge Trophy winners below courtesy of WIN Magazine (including Penn State coach Cael Sanderson):

Year        Name                                     School

2019       Bo Nickal                              Penn State

2018       Zain Retherford  Penn State

2017       Zain Retherford                  Penn State

2016       Alex Dieringer                      Oklahoma State

2015        Logan Stieber                      Ohio State

2014       David Taylor                        Penn State

2013        Kyle Dake                              Cornell

2012       David Taylor        Penn State

2011        Jordan Burroughs                Nebraska

2010       Jayson Ness                           Minnesota

2009       Jake Herbert                          Northwestern

2008       Brent Metcalf                        Iowa

2007       Ben Askren            Missouri

2006       Ben Askren             Missouri

2005       Steve Mocco                          Oklahoma State

2004       Emmett Willson   Mont. St.-Northern

2003       Eric Larkin              Arizona State

2002       Cael Sanderson    Iowa State

2001 *    Cael Sanderson    Iowa State

2001 *   Nick Ackerman     Simpson College

2000       Cael Sanderson    Iowa State

1999       Stephen Neal                       Cal State Bakersfield

1998       Mark Ironside                       Iowa

1997       Kerry McCoy                        Penn State

1996       Les Gutches                          Oregon State

1995        T.J. Jaworsky                        North Carolina

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

February 07 2021 06:30 pm

app apple google

Don't Miss