Independent Oversight Board for Youth Protection members announced

Local News

Thursday, Acting United States Attorney Soo C. Song and Bishop Mark Bartchak of the Diocese of Altoona-Johnstown announced the names of the five people appointed to the Independent Oversight Board for Youth Protection for the Diocese of Altoona-Johnstown.

The Diocese created the Independent Oversight Board earlier this year to supervise and review the child protection efforts of the Diocese.

The five members are:

  1. James Brown, former Chief of Staff to both Senator Bob Casey and Governor Robert P. Casey. Mr. Brown will serve as Chair of the Board.
  2. Walter “Pete” Carlson, former criminal investigator for the Pennsylvania State Police.
  3. Eileen Dombo, PhD, LICSW, Associate Professor and Assistant Dean of the National Catholic School of Social Service at The Catholic University of America.
  4. Mary Herwig, advocate for child protection 
  5. J. Alan Johnson, former United States Attorney for the Western District of PA

This is a separate group than the review board that was announced in August. 

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

February 07 2021 06:30 pm

Don't Miss