Federal government to use different terms

President Obama signed a bill into law that changes the words the federal government uses to refer to minorities.
The official terms for “negro” and “oriental” are now “African American” and “Asian American.”
“American Indian” is now “Native American” and “spanish speaking individual of spanish descent” is now “Hispanic.”
The bill passed unanimously in the House and Senate earlier this year.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

February 07 2021 06:30 pm

Don't Miss