PSU-OSU Set For Primetime

Penn State will host Ohio State this season on October 25th at 8pm.
UNIVERSITY PARK – For the second straight year, Penn State will clash with Michigan and Ohio State in prime time, as the Buckeyes’ Oct. 25 visit to Beaver Stadium is set to be played under the lights.

 The Big Ten East Division clash between Penn State and Ohio State will kick at 8 p.m.  The Nittany Lions and Buckeyes will be meeting in prime time for the sixth time in the past 10 seasons (2005, ’07, ’08, ’12, ’13, ‘14).

 Coach James Franklin’s Nittany Lions will visit Michigan on Oct. 11 for a 7 p.m. ET.  The Big Ten East Division contest will be Michigan’s first Big Ten home night game.

 The Penn State-Ohio State clash annually is one of the nation’s most highly anticipated contests. The teams have met every year since Penn State began Big Ten competition in 1993. The Nittany Lions and Buckeyes will be East Division rivals starting this season and continue to play annually.

 The Michigan and Ohio State games are the Nittany Lions’ second and third announced kick times for the upcoming season. Penn State’s Aug. 30 season opener vs. UCF in the Croke Park Classic will kick at 1:30 p.m. in Dublin; 8:30 a.m. ET. Penn State will be playing its first international game in its 128-year history when it travels to Ireland.

 Penn State will be playing at least one regular season night game for the 15th consecutive season. A determination on which network will nationally televise the Michigan and Ohio State clashes may not be made until six days before the contest. Additional Nittany Lion kick times will be announced later this spring.

 Every Penn State football game has been televised the past 10 seasons and 240 of the last 242 contests overall have been on TV.

 The Nittany Lions concluded spring practice last Saturday, with an estimated 72,000 fans attending the Blue-White Game, the nation’s largest spring football crowd thus far in 2014.

 Franklin and nine other head coaches will be participating in the 17-stop Penn State Coaches Caravan, starting May 1 at the Pegula Ice Arena on the University Park campus and ending May 22 at Penn State Erie. Franklin is scheduled to appear at all 17 events.

 Penn State returns 41 letter winners and 15 starters (7 offense, 7 defense, 1 specialist) and will play a trio of 2013 Top 10 teams this fall.  The Nittany Lions will host Rose Bowl Champion Michigan State (Nov. 29), Ohio State (Oct. 25), Northwestern (Sept. 27-Homecoming) and Maryland (Nov. 1) during its 2014 Big Ten home schedule. Penn State will host Akron (Sept. 6), UMass (Sept. 20) and Temple (Nov. 15) during its non-conference schedule.

 --Penn State Athletic Communications

Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus