Foods labeled gluten-free must actually live up to their claims. The Food and Drug Administration says to use the gluten-free label, products must now have an undetectable level of gluten and cannot have an ingredient containing wheat, rye, barley, or any of their derivatives.
Last August, the FDA gave food manufacturers one year to meet the requirements. If manufacturers don't, they face regulatory action from the agency.
The ruling applies to packaged foods only. So you still need to remain vigilant when you're eating out and ask questions about the ingredients in restaurant meals.