WTAJ News Wins Edward R. Murrow Award

Published 04/22 2014 02:29PM

Updated 04/23 2014 05:49PM

WTAJ News has been awarded a Regional Edward R. Murrow Award in the category of Breaking News for the coverage of the Bomb Threat at the Hollidaysburg Court House on October 23, 2013.

The 2014 regional winners of the Murrow Awards recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

“This story was a small example of our dedication throughout the year to our Local viewers,” said Scott Levy, WTAJ News Director.  “We are grateful to be honored for our coverage of this story and look forward to continuing our commitment to serving our viewers.”

This year, the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) awarded 661 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 14 categories, including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting, and Website.

RTDNA received more than 4,000 entries during the 2014 awards season, surpassing 2013 by more than 500 entries and setting an all-time record for entries in what proved to be one of the most competitive Edward R. Murrow Awards seasons in RTDNA history.

Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in May. National awards will be presented at the in New York City on October 6.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Featured Coupon


Featured Business