Gluten-Free Rule Takes Effect

Published 08/06 2014 04:28PM

Updated 08/06 2014 04:30PM

Foods labeled gluten-free must actually live up to their claims. The  Food and Drug Administration says to use the gluten-free label, products must now have an undetectable level of gluten and cannot have an ingredient containing wheat, rye, barley, or any of their derivatives.

Last August, the FDA gave food manufacturers one year to meet the requirements. If manufacturers don't, they face regulatory action from the agency.

The ruling applies to packaged foods only. So you still need to remain vigilant when you're eating out and ask questions about the ingredients in restaurant meals.

Copyright 2015 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Featured Coupon


Featured Business