Dawn sits down with Pam Kane from PennDOT to discuss Pennsylvania's new Anti-texting law that takes effect March 8th. The law makes text-based communication illegal while driving, starting at 12:01 a.m. on March 8th. The offense carries a fine of $50.
Details from Harrisburg:
"Your most important job when behind the wheel is to focus only on driving. Most people would never close their eyes for five seconds while driving, but that's how long you take your eyes of the road, or even longer, every time you send or read a text message," PennDOT Secretary Barry J. Schoch said. "It's not just your own life you're risking; it's the lives and safety of every motorist around you."
The new law specifically does the following:
- Makes it a primary offense to use an Interactive Wireless Communication Device (IWCD) to send, read or write a text-based message.
- Defines an IWCD as a wireless phone, personal digital assistant, smartphone, portable or mobile computer or similar devices that can be used for texting, instant messaging, emailing or browsing the Internet.
- Defines a text-based message as a text message, instant message, email or other written communication composed or received on an IWCD.
- Institutes a $50 fine for convictions.
- Makes clear that this law supersedes and preempts any local ordinances restricting the use of interactive wireless devices by drivers.
"Ultimately, we hope that our enforcement efforts will create voluntary compliance by the majority of motorists," Noonan said.
In 2010, there were nearly 14,000 crashes in Pennsylvania where distracted driving played a role, with 68 people dying in those crashes.
Learn more online at about the Anti-Texting Law.
Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.